Use of cookies by
Norton Rose Fulbright
We use cookies to deliver our online services. Details and instructions on how to disable those cookies are set out at By continuing to use this website you agree to our use of our cookies unless you have disabled them.

UCITS insight

UCITS Directive


UCITS (Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities) is the main EU legislative framework covering the regulation and cross border marketing of collective investment schemes that are suitable for retail investors.

“The team is known as being an esteemed bench of funds specialists, well known for its expertise in closed-end listed funds matters, as well as a renowned capacity to handle open-ended and real estate funds matters.” Chambers UK 2015

How can we help?

Our team have created this UCITS knowledge tool to provide you with insight and analysis into the UCITS regime. We set out a brief history of the UCITS regime together with a timeline containing links to the level 1 and 2 measured and the relevant ESMA papers. We also set out links to the relevant papers from the European Commission, the council of the EU and the UK authorities.  We also cover the passport and marketing, the Omnibus proposals and Brexit. A selection of our UCITS materials including past slides and briefing notes and our highly popular Quarterley Asset Management Updater series which completes the tool.